New Webinar on Covid-19 and digitalization on May 28 2020

The covid-19 outbreak has had a significant impact on daily life of populations and health care systems. Due to physical distancing as a core policy, digitalization is a main opportunity also in health care. At the same time the new law for digitalization in health care (DiGA) was made effective In Germany.

The MArS Covid-19 task force will show you in this webinar:

  • How digitalization has changed the health care system
  • The different pathways for digitalization solutions to the German market

Register now: Webinars

Video available – MArS webinar – Covid-19 cost on Germany

On Thursday, April 23 2020, MArS offered the webinar “How many billion of Euros does the fight against the Covid-19-virus cost the healthcare system? A health economic modelling analysis for Germany”.

The presentation as a video is now available:

MArS has extensive experience in health economic modelling an support you in your endeavors.

Enjoy the video and stay healthy!

MArS webinar slides on cost of Covid-19 available

On Thursday, April 23 2020, MArS offered the webinar “How many billion of Euros does the fight against the Covid-19-virus cost the healthcare system? A health economic modelling analysis for Germany”.

The presented slides are now available on our website MArS – Stefan Walzer – Webinar – Covid-19 impact health economics Germany

MArS has extensive experience in health economic modelling an support you in your endeavors.

Stay healthy!

MArS-Webinar invitation: How many billion of Euros does the fight against the Covid-19-virus cost the healthcare system? A health economic modelling analysis for Germany.

The covid-19 outbreak has had a significant impact on daily life of populations and also a significant budget impact for health care systems. There are various statistical simulation tools available in the context of Covid-19 developed by different institutions. The CovidSIM is a simulator developed by academic experts on behalf of the ministry of social welfare (and health) of Baden-Wuerttemberg (Germany).

The MArS Covid-19 task force will show you in this webinar:

• How well this simulator can predict the outbreak and situation in Germany.

• How much the health care utilization cost have been so far for the German health care system.

• In which way you might leverage this simulation tool.

Register now – seats are limited: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/4915870254563/WN_q4mgDCXVRAiD_ZrYUgsSKQ

 

Covid-19 crisis makes KOLs availability difficult – MArS has the solution

Given the covid-19 crisis, most clinical KOLs are no more able to attend any physical meetings or even phone calls due to the heavy work load in some areas of the D-A-CH countries!
MArS is working since years in a step-wise approach for such situations, when KOLs might be difficult to be approached:
  • Physical Advisory Board Meeting
  • Virtual Advisory Board Meeting
  • Virtual Delphi Panel

Please contact us directly and get your tailor-made solution to stay in contact with your KOLs: stefan.walzer@marketaccess-pricingstrategy.de

G-BA prepared their decision-making capacity given the COVID-19 outbreak

The G-BA has decided today that the COVID-19 outbreak and the related public restrictions are special circumstances in their internal regulations. Hence they can now also utilize videoconferences and written decision-making. See also details on their website. Their decision is still due until the Ministry of Health decides on the resolution.

So, the market access route for drugs, medical devices, diagnostics, vaccinations is still open and ready for (new) innovations.

MArS has vast experience in market access strategy, the writing of applications and related price negotiations. Contact us!

Work environment given the COVID-19 outbreak

Dear clients, network partners, friends!!

Most of companies are moving now into home-office-based business given the outbreak of the COVID-19 virus! Home-office sounds easy, it is not always, especially if you have not (yet) a grown culture on that kind of work.

We at MArS always work from our home-offices, and we have specific tricks and recommendations you need to follow in order to make it successful! On the work environment section of our website you can find already some suggestions.

But please take this as an offer: Contact me or any MArS member to get insights how home-office can be made a successful story given the difficult situation we are currently all in.

Take care and stay at home!!

New analysis on external reference pricing shows negative impact on drug availability

Kanavos et al. just published another analysis on external reference pricing (ERP). ERP is widely applied by many payers across the world and also delivers short term cost savings for health care systems. Conclusions by Kanavos et al. are as follows: “ERP has not regulated prices efficiently and has unintended consequences that reduce the benefits arising from it. If ERP is carefully designed with minimal price revisions, prudent selection of basket size and countries, and consideration of transaction prices, it could be a more effective mechanism enhancing welfare, equitable access to medicines within countries and help promote industry innovation.”

The full article is available in the European Journal of Health Economics.

MArS has experience in pricing research and strategy as well as in price negotiations and can hence assess the ERP impact on the D-A-CH countries in detail.

MArS teaching at the MedTech Startup School in Tuebingen / Germany

At the start of a product’s lifecycle there are many questions to be answered and many processes to be planned. One of the core areas to cover is pricing and reimbursement as this has a direct impact on the price and patient outreach (“availability”) and hence a company’s revenues flow. MArS is teaching the tools and processes as tutors at the Startup School Tuebingen with a variety of new companies and various bright business ideas.

With our experience in pricing planning, insurance contacts, submissions and negotiations we can help driving a company through the endeavor of market access from the early days until the end.

Price negotiation article published – link MArS negotiation boot camp

Price negotiation strategy is most of the times also linked to the available evidence and the potential bet on future data. Gladwell et al. have just published a nice simulation approach with the example in the UK which can also be utilized in the D-A-CH context. For the German AMNOG that approach is also relevant for orphan drugs earlier in the process also with the G-BA and for any pharmaceutical within the price negotiations with the GKV-SV.

The article is available in Value in Health.

MArS has long-lasting experience in (price) negotiations in the D-A-CH regions. We have also developed an internal and successful negotiation boot camp utilizing virtual reality. Contact us for a live demonstration.

Webinar: Covid-19 in Europa – Spezial Fokus Deutschland: Wann kommt die zweite Welle und wie wird diese möglicherweise aussehen?

Deutschland hat bei der Kontrolle und den Ergebnissen des Covid-19 Ausbruchs eine Vorreiterrolle übernommen. Die Situation bis Ende Mai ist sehr vielversprechend mit einer Reproduktionszahl unter eins und Neuinfektionen unter 800 pro Tag. Es wurden nur wenige Hotspots identifiziert, und die Sperrmaßnahmen wurden bis zum Maximum gelockert. Eine Kernfrage bleibt jedoch bestehen: Nicht ob, sondern wann eine zweite Covid-19 Welle kommen und wie diese möglicherweise aussehen wird.

Die MArS Covid-19 Task Force wird Ihnen einige realistische Simulationsszenarien vorstellen, die auf epidemiologischen Erkenntnissen basieren.

Jetzt registrieren

Neues Webinar zu Covid-19 und Digitalisierung am 28. Mai 2020

Der Ausbruch von Covid-19 hat erhebliche Auswirkungen auf das tägliche Leben der Bevölkerung und die Gesundheitssysteme gehabt. Aufgrund der physischen Distanzierung als Kernpolitik bietet sich der Digitalisierung auch im Gesundheitswesen eine große Chance. Gleichzeitig wurde in Deutschland das neue Gesetz zur Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen (DiGA) in Kraft gesetzt.

Innerhalb des Webinars wird die MArS Covid-19 Task Force u.a. folgende Punkte diskutieren:

  • Wie die Digitalisierung das Gesundheitssystem verändert hat
  • Die verschiedenen Wege für Digitalisierungslösungen auf dem deutschen Markt

Jetzt registrieren: Webinare

MArS-Webinar-Video zu den Kosten von Covid-19 verfügbar

Am Donnerstag, 23. April 2020, bot MArS das Webinar „Wie viele Milliarden Euro kostet der Kampf gegen das Covid-19-Virus das Gesundheitssystem? Eine gesundheitsökonomische Modellierungsanalyse für Deutschland“ an.

Das vorgestellte Webinar ist nun als Video auf unserer Website verfügbar

MArS verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der gesundheitsökonomischen Modellierung und unterstützt Sie gerne in Ihren Bemühungen.

MArS-Webinar-Folien zu den Kosten von Covid-19 verfügbar

Am Donnerstag, 23. April 2020, bot MArS das Webinar “Wie viele Milliarden Euro kostet der Kampf gegen das Covid-19-Virus das Gesundheitssystem? Eine gesundheitsökonomische Modellierungsanalyse für Deutschland” an.

Die vorgestellten Folien sind jetzt auf unserer Website MArS verfügbar – MArS – Stefan Walzer – Webinar – Covid-19 impact health economics Germany

MArS verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der gesundheitsökonomischen Modellierung und unterstützt Sie gerne in Ihren Bemühungen.

Bleiben Sie gesund!

Covid-19-Krise erschwert Verfügbarkeit von KOLs – MArS hat eine Lösung

Angesichts der Covid-19-Krise können die meisten klinischen KOLs aufgrund der hohen Arbeitsbelastung in einigen Gebieten der D-A-CH-Länder nicht mehr an physischen Expertentreffen oder sogar Telefongesprächen teilnehmen!

MArS arbeitet seit Jahren in einem schrittweisen Ansatz für solche Situationen, bei denen es schwierig ist mit klinischen Experten in Kontakt zu bleiben:

  • Physische Advisory Boards
  • Virtuelle Advisory Boards
  • Virtuelle Delphi-Panel

Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns direkt und erhalten Sie Ihre maßgeschneiderte Lösung, um mit Ihren KOLs in Kontakt zu bleiben: stefan.walzer@marketaccess-pricingstrategy.de

Der G-BA hat seine Entscheidungsfähigkeit angesichts des COVID-19-Ausbruchs vorbereitet

Der G-BA hat heute entschieden, dass der Ausbruch von COVID-19 und die damit verbundenen öffentlichen Einschränkungen besondere Umstände in seinen internen Vorschriften darstellen. Daher können sie nun auch Videokonferenzen und schriftliche Entscheidungen nutzen. Siehe auch Details auf deren Website. Diese Entscheidung ist noch nicht rechtsverbindlich bis das Gesundheitsministerium über den Beschluss entschieden hat.

Der Marktzugang für Medikamente, Medizinprodukte, Diagnostika, Impfungen ist also weiterhin offen und bereit für (neue) Innovationen.

MArS verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Marktzugangsstrategie, Einreichungen zur Kostenerstattung und den damit verbundenen Preisverhandlungen. Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Arbeitsumfeld im Zeichen des COVID-19

Liebe Kunden, Netzwerkpartner, Freunde!!

Die meisten Unternehmen gehen jetzt angesichts des Ausbruchs des COVID-19-Virus in den Bereich der Heimarbeit (home-office) über! Heimbüro klingt einfach, ist es aber nicht immer, vor allem wenn man (noch) keine gewachsene Kultur für diese Art von Arbeitens entwickelt hat.

Wir, bei MArS, arbeiten immer von unseren Heimbüros aus, und wir haben spezifische Tricks und Empfehlungen, die Sie befolgen können, um damit erfolgreich zu sein! Im Abschnitt über die Arbeitsumfeld auf unserer Website finden Sie bereits einige Vorschläge.

Aber nehmen Sie dies bitte als ein Angebot: Kontaktieren Sie mich oder einer unserer MArS-Members, um einen Einblick zu erhalten, wie das Home-Office angesichts der schwierigen Situation, in der wir uns derzeit alle befinden, zu einer Erfolgsgeschichte gemacht werden kann.

Passen Sie auf sich auf und bleiben Sie zu Hause!!

Neue Analyse des externen Referenzpreissystems zeigt negative Auswirkungen auf die Verfügbarkeit von Medikamenten

Kanavos et al. haben eine weitere Analyse zum externen Referenzpreissystem (ERP) veröffentlicht. ERP wird weltweit von vielen Kostenträgern (“Payer”) angewandt und liefert auch kurzfristige Kosteneinsparungen für die Gesundheitssysteme. Die Schlussfolgerungen von Kanavos et al. lauten dabei wie folgt: “ERP hat die Preise nicht effizient reguliert und hat unbeabsichtigte Folgen, die den daraus resultierenden Nutzen schmälern. Wenn das ERP mit minimalen Preisrevisionen, einer sorgfältigen Auswahl der Anzahl sowie der ausgewählten Ländern (“basket countries”) sowie der Berücksichtigung von Transaktionspreisen sorgfältig konzipiert wird, könnte ein ERP ein wirksamer Mechanismus sein, der die Wohlfahrt und den gerechten Zugang zu Medikamenten innerhalb der Länder verbessert und zur Förderung der Innovation in der Industrie beiträgt.”

Der vollständige Artikel ist im European Journal of Health Economics verfügbar.

MArS hat Erfahrung in der Pricing Research -strategie sowie in Preisverhandlungen und kann daher die Auswirkungen der ERP auf die D-A-CH-Länder im Detail evaluieren.

MArS als Tutor an der MedTech Startup-School in Tübingen

Zu Beginn des Lebenszyklus eines Produkts sind viele Fragen zu beantworten und viele Prozesse zu planen. Einer der Kernbereiche, die es abzudecken gilt, ist die Preisgestaltung und die Kostenerstattung, da dies einen direkten Einfluss auf den Preis und die Patientenreichweite (“Verfügbarkeit”) und damit auf den Umsatz eines Unternehmens hat. MArS unterrichtet die Werkzeuge und Prozesse als Tutoren u.a. an der Startup-School Tübingen mit einer Vielzahl von Startups und verschiedenen großartigen Geschäftsideen.

Mit unserer Erfahrung in der Preisplanung, bei Kostenträgern, Einreichungen und Verhandlungen können wir Unternehmen von Beginn bis zum Ende der Market Access Prozesse erfolgreich begleiten.

Artikel über Preisverhandlungen veröffentlicht – Link zum MArS-Verhandlungs-Bootcamp

Die Preisverhandlungsstrategie ist meistens auch an die verfügbare Evidenz und die “Wette” auf mögliche zukünftige neue Studiendaten. Gladwell et al. haben gerade einen interessanten Simulationsansatz am Beispiel Großbritannien veröffentlicht, welcher auch im D-A-CH-Kontext verwendet werden kann. Für das deutsche AMNOG ist dieser Ansatz u.a. auch für Orphan-Medikamente in der möglichen Befristung durch den G-BA relevant und bei jedem Arzneimittel im Rahmen der Preisverhandlungen mit dem GKV-SV.

Der Artikel ist in Value in Health verfügbar.

MArS hat langjährige Erfahrung in (Preis-) Verhandlungen in den D-A-CH-Regionen. Wir haben auch ein internes und erfolgreiches Verhandlungs-Bootcamp entwickelt inklusive der Anwendung von Virtual Reality. Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine Live-Demonstration.